Pulled pork in Chinese spices 🐷🍃


This is a take on from my favourite Thai dish “Kao-ka-moo”.I like to think that my recipe is slight healthier and easier than the original 😉. Chinese spices are widely used in South East Asia. Not only as seasoning but also as part of remedies for colds etc.Hope you enjoy this hearty dish. 

Served: 2

Ingredients:

750grams.          Boneless Pork shoulder with rinded skin 
1tbs.                    Light soya sauce 

1tsp.                    Dark soya sauce

2tbs.                    Brown sugar

1tsp.                    Salt

2tsp.                   Ground black pepper 

100gram.          Chinese Spice mix*

1                         Big Bramley apply cut in chunk

1.                        Big onion cut in chunk

1.                       Carrot cut in chunk

3.                       Garlic cloves chopped

150ml.              Water

1/2.                    Chicken stick cube

Methods

– Mix light ,dark soy sauce with sugar and garlic and rub the mixture on the pork. Then salt and ground black pepper. Leave it for 1 hour .
– Dry the pork skin with a kitchen towel. Then put the pork in a baking tray and then the oven at 220 Celsius for 20-25 minutes. 

– Put the Chinese spices on a low heat pan and gently dry fry them for approx 10 minutes.

– Take the pork out and turn the oven down to 150 Celsius. 

  All in the baking tray with the pork goes the spices, onion, carrot.

-Cover the baking tray with foil and put in back in the oven for 3 hours.

-After 3 hours, put Bramley apple in the baking tin, then back in the oven without the foil for 1 more hour.

– Take the pork out of baking tin. Use the sif to strain the spices and vegetable away but use the gravy.

– Pour the gravy in the pan on hot stove,add half of chicken stock cube and 1 teaspoon of ground black pepper.Stir the gravy well.

There are two ways to serve this pulled pork

1) My daughter loves it in Brioche bun, watercress and rocket salad .

2) I like to eat mine with aromatic Thai jasmine rice, Pak Choi and Sauerkraut

and top with silky salty gravy. 

Tips: *My Chinese spice mix consists of 2 cinnamon sticks, 2 star anise , 1/2 teaspoon of fennel seed, cloves, dry ginger, cardamom and licorice. If you can’t find these , try 3 tablespoon of five spice powder which will do the trick also. 

 

Author: marnixuto

I am Marni I am originally from Bangkok, Thailand. My food journey is somehow slightly different than others, I did not grow up in the household that loves cooking …I can embarrassingly emphasise that the only cooking appliance we owned was a rice cooker. The city of Bangkok, where I was raised and born has one of the best street food territory in the world. You can pick up a fresh, tasty dishes at a very reasonable prices .So there was no need to cook then. I moved to UK 14 years ago and realised that my eating out habits had to change. Not only it can be expensive but also considered as unhealthy to eat take aways in such that amount . This fortunate survival coincidence, taught me to cook at home and create the mouthwatering Thai dishes which are nutritional, delicious yet ..easy to make from the ingredients which you can buy from the mainstream supermarkets. Fast forward to now and hear I am , spreading the word and reassuring everyone that we can create tasty Thai dishes from the minimal ingredients, simple methods with little effort … in the comfort of your own home. My aim is to create the simple delicious Thai dishes that everyone can cook and enjoy. Explore my recipes at http://thaifoodmadeeasy.com/ Follow me on Instagram @easy.thaifood #Thaifoodmadeeasy Like and Share on Facebook : Thaifoodmadeeasy Thank you 🙏🏻💖

Leave a comment